Plush Leopard Print Nail Art

I’ve been working a lot recently on nail art using my acrylic paints and fine details etc and I wanted to try a simple yet classy manicure.

I’m not sure who started the trend of the plush nail art (or the correct name) so I can’t credit them for the idea but I have seen it done by a few ladies and had to give it a go. I have not watched any tutorials just guessed and it worked quite well.

So here is the finished article

20140112-201450.jpg

As you may have seen from previous posts I like to give a little how to (if I can) so you can try this yourself so here is how I created the accent nail.

20140112-201633.jpg

1. Paint 2-3 reasonably thick coats of your desired polish. I used Barry M Matte Black as I knew it would achieve my desired look.
2. Leave the polish to dry for 5 to 10 minutes, just enough time for the outer layer to become touch dry. When dry use a straight thin object to gently press a cross hatch design into the polish. Don’t press to hard as you may push all the polish to the side and leave a blank space.
3. Add dots of a contrasting colour where each line crosses over. I used OPI Liquid Sand – It’s Frosty Outside and a plastic orange stick to place the dots.

Here is how I created the leopard print

20140112-203413.jpg

1. Randomly dot polish onto the nail. It doesn’t need to be neat or fancy so just use the normal polish brush. I used Revlon Hot For Chocolate (903) over Color Club Antiquated.
2. Dot another colour in the same way as step 1. You don’t need to do this step if you don’t want just do more dots of your step 1 colour. I used Nails Inc Upper Regent Street.
3. Draw around the dots (check out how I did it or google leopard print if you want to do a better job than me 😉 ) for this I used the black Barry M Nail Art Pen

Instead of a topcoat I used Ciate Party Shoes to give a little sparkle.

20140112-204800.jpg

Above is a daylight shot of my mani. I must say I love it and have found myself staring at my nails all day 🙂

Leave a Reply

