Black & Gold

At the end of last year I won a competition on instagram hosted by @adkanails. She sent me some fab prizes, one being a small pot of gold leaf. I’ve been meaning to try it for ages and finally got round to it this week.

I started my mani with Orly Liquid Vinyl. If you haven’t tried Orly, I recommend you do! I got this in the clearance at TK Maxx (pack of 2 polishes £6) and it’s fab. This is the first black I’ve ever owned that goes on fine in one coat, meaning if you haven’t got the time to sit around waiting for layers to dry this is the polish for you.

20140128-171131.jpg

Next up is adding the gold leaf. You don’t need your base to be tacky as gold leaf sticks to anything and everything! So let your base fully dry and get your gold leaf. You will need tweezers or something similar to handle the gold leaf due to it sticking and make sure when you do touch it your hands are dry and product free (no freshly moisturised hands). The gold leaf I have is in strips a couple of cm wide so I used tweezers to gently pull random pieces off to place on to my nail. If you wanted specific shapes etc then just use scissors to cut it.

Using the tweezers I placed the gold flakes randomly on each nail, patted it down gently with my finger and finished with a clear top coat.

Here is my right hand

20140128-171853.jpg

And my left

20140128-171928.jpg

I did a little experimenting with adding a gold glitter as well. This is the mani with Nails Inc Lumley Street on top.

20140128-172053.jpg

Leave a Reply

