Roses – Tattoo Inspired

With valentines just around the corner I have been desperately trying to do some roses nail art. I’ve tried a few different ways and nothing was turning out how I wanted. Then the idea finally came to me, old school roses! They are a very simplistic design but very effective and there is no doubting the final result is a rose.

So let’s start with my base, I used Liquid Sky Lacquer, Bri’s Hella Holo. I would love to give you some fabulous reason why I chose this but there isn’t one, I recently received my first order from Rainbow Connection of HK Girl top coat and 2 Liquid Sky Lacquers. I simply couldn’t wait to get these colours on my nails πŸ™‚

20140211-123603.jpg

20140211-123612.jpg

It’s pretty easy to find some designs to base my roses on, I simply googled old school rose. Initially I saved several images of roses but decided to stick with one effective shape while I got used to the design and with practice I will do a fancy mani with lots of different designs.

So here is the base rose I decided on.

20140211-123925.jpg

I was torn between doing all roses the same colour but wanted to mimic the array of colours in the holo base so settled on every rose being different.

20140211-124058.jpg

As you can see I added a diamond and a nautical star following the old school theme. I did each nail start to finish but when I got to my ring finger and placed the rose at the top there was a lot of empty space below. So I thought a diamond would go well, flowers and diamonds, what more could a girl want? I then became very aware of a large space on my middle finger so wanted another old school idea to fill the space.

20140211-124421.jpg

20140211-124434.jpg

20140211-124443.jpg

I hope you liked this nail art and if you are in the UK and want to try some fabulous indie polishes, go check out Rainbow a Connection xx

Leave a Reply

