Glitter Placement

I’ve started recently trying to use all the techniques and designs I’ve always wanted to try but never quite got round to it. The latest in my extremely long list is glitter placement. There are some really fab ladies out there who do amazing designs with just glitter but until recently I didn’t like glitter and studs, just thought they were pointless additions. I now understand their role in producing fabulous nail art!

As I am so new and have a limited supply of larger glitter I started with a very basic design.

My base polish is Calvin Klein – Cabernet. It’s a deep red wine colour that I felt was the best compliment to my glitter colours. Oh and it was a steal from B&M Bargains as they are 2 for £3 🙂

20140224-201505.jpg
The glitter was from the Ciate Mini Mani advent calendar and is called Miss Mistletoe. It contains red, gold & pink sequins.

20140224-201741.jpg
I’m not sure of the proper way to apply glitter but for me I painted a clear top coat and while still tacky I used a dotting tool (slightly wetted on the end) to pick up and place the sequins on my nail. I applied another top coat to seal and all done. Although the ring finger took slightly longer as the topcoat would dry, I had to reapply a few times to complete the design.

20140224-202020.jpg
I would recommend glitter placement to the nail art novice as it doesn’t require too much effort and can produce some fab striking results.

20140224-202122.jpg

2 thoughts on “Glitter Placement

  1. clawdz says:

    Beautiful! And a great idea, I think I’ll need to start doing this. I’ve been anti glitter because of how unpredictable it is, but maybe doing this will help. Thanks, and love your blog!

    • nailinka says:

      Thank you so much 🙂 I am glad I have given you some inspiration to try it for yourself. I will definitely be looking at purchasing more glitter and doing more looks like this x

Leave a Reply

