Purple Zebra Stars

Those of you who have followed my work may have noticed a pattern forming with my simpler designs! Yes it is cake and this design is no exception! So I would like to say thank you cake makers, without your talent and creativity I wouldn’t be doing half the nail art I do x

Here is my inspiration for this particular design.
IMG_3919.PNG

I used 3 base polishes to match the tiers on the cake.
Nails Inc – Leather Effect – Noho
Models Own – Hypergel – Purple Glare
Mavala – Antarctic

IMG_4930.JPG

To create the 3D effect that you see at the bottom of the cake it is really simple.
1. Paint 1 layer of your chosen colour (I think matte or the leather effect polishes work best but you can use any polish but glitter really)
2. After a few minutes drying time paint a second coat. Allow a couple of minutes for the outer polish to dry but not enough time that you can safely do up a pair of jeans (you all know this problem ;))
3. Take your dotting tool and gently press into the polish in diagonal lines equally spaced apart, repeat in the opposite direction to form the diamond pattern you see.

IMG_4937.JPG
4. Repeat step 3 a couple of times while the polish is drying as it will try to smooth itself out.
5. Finally dot a silver polish (or gold if you prefer) where each line crosses.

IMG_4938.JPG

I hand painted the zebra print and stars but you can stamp these if you have the right stamping plate.
Here is the finished design, I hope you like x

IMG_4939.JPG

IMG_4940.JPG

Leave a Reply

