Captain Jack Sparrow

After doing my Big Hero 6 nail art the other week I finally built up the courage to attempt a realistic portrait. I made a bold move to attempt a really famous face, yes, Mr Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow!

I struggled with a base colour to accompany the one feature nail that would hold the portrait but I started off with Calvin Klein – Cabernet. It’s a really fish red with a lovely shimmer that is hard to capture in a photo.

IMG_5027.JPG

The portrait was done completely in acrylic paint and took most of an evening and a few tweeks in the morning as I struggled to get his eyes right. I’m fairly happy with it as a first attempt, the main thing I need to work on is using the paint better to blend etc.

IMG_5029.JPG

IMG_5031.JPG
I played about with the accompanying nails, first I added a flakie from Color Club (I don’t know the name sorry)

IMG_5030.JPG
Finally I changed completely to Orly – Liquid Vinyl.

IMG_5028.JPG
Thank you for looking xx

Leave a Reply

