Dotticure Strawberries (using peel off base)

So today’s post is a little different. There is no story behind how I can up with the design idea as I did this as part of a mani swap on Instagram. I also used a new product and wanted to share with you my verdict.

So first things first the base coat! Normally I use O.P.I Nail Envy under every manicure, it is a fantastic product and without it my nails would be mere stumps. But I was in a hurry with this design as I had others to do so tested the Miss Sporty – Peel off base (available at Superdrug)
The bottle says to apply generously so I did just that

IMG_5395
The next step is to wait for the product to turn clear, this can take a while when you have just applied generously.

IMG_5396
You are then free to use your polish etc. when you are ready to remove just use another nail to lift the edge of the base.

IMG_5397
VERDICT – The product was easy to apply, a little slow to dry but that didn’t surprise me. There were two main concerns:
1. When applying generously the base can be a little gloomy and therefore not apply smoothly which shows through when plain polish is added. Not so much a problem under texture or glitter.
2. It doesn’t exactly ‘peel’ off, more scrapes off but it’s still ultimately easier than polish remover especially on glitter or texture polishes.
Overall I recommend this for those difficult to remove polishes, not for every day use. I would most certainly buy again as it was only £2.29 so well worth the money.

So now let’s move on the the design. I started with a base of Lollipop by Orly.

IMG_5388
I used a dotting tool to add white spots on each nail then painted strawberries with acrylic paint.

IMG_5398

IMG_5378

IMG_5399
Here is the image myself and @nailfocus used to reveal our mani swap xx

IMG_5379

Leave a Reply

