Silver Linings Playbook Nail Art

Products Used:

  • China Glaze – White on White
  • Revlon – Stiletto 
  • Stylish Nail Art Shop Maxi Brush
  • Acrylic Paints
  • Glisten & Glow – HK Girl Top Coat
  • Barry M – Matte Top Coat

There is nothing like a good Instagram contest to stir my creativity! An amazing nail artist @ashearer3 on IG is currently running a movie inspired contest. I have created many Disney designs in the past but I wanted to try and do something different for this contest so I set about finding images from some of my favourite movies.

One of my favourite movies is Silver Linings Playbook starring Jennifer Lawrence & Bradley Cooper. The movie is close to my heart as it focuses on Bipolar. Bipolar is a large part of my life, not because I have it myself but a very close member of my family was diagnosed around a year ago.

This was a complicated mani to create as it included not 1 but 2 portraits. I have only attempted one in the past (Captain Jack Sparrow). Although I was pleased with my last portrait attempt it was daunting to try another. I put a lot of pressure on myself to get things perfect and portraits can go horribly wrong. But as I was creating this design for a contest I knew I had to pull out all the stops.

Each portrait took 2 hours to paint. I am very happy with Jennifer Lawrence but I could improve on Bradley Cooper. I struggled to get his portrait right but my tattoo artist husband helped me out with tones etc. As with most of my detailed designs I used a shiny top coat first then added a matte top coat to allow me to better photograph the design.

I hope you like the design and if you haven’t seen the movie, check it out 😃

image image image image image image image image

2 thoughts on “Silver Linings Playbook Nail Art

Leave a Reply

