Olympia Beauty 2015

Yesterday I made my way to London for one of the biggest beauty events around! The event is a trade only affair but bloggers can nab themselves a press pass to check out the latest products and workshops.

I hadn’t been before so wasn’t sure what to expect but I armed myself with comfy shoes and spending money ready for a days shopping. When I arrived the queue was already forming luckily the doors opened before the advertised time and it was quick and easy to get through and collect my entry badge.

Walking through the doors I entered heaven! The major brands such as dermalogica and O.P.I had centre stage with lavish stands filled with their best products and knowledgeable staff on hand to guide you through the offerings.

Olympia Beauty 2015

Olympia Beauty 2015

I made a beeline for the Scratch magazine stand first, they had a fantastic offer for new subscriptions of a free goody bag. I already had a subscription after recently being interviewed and featured in this months issue but I did purchase Nail Style. This is an inspirational book from the deputy editor of Scratch magazine featuring amazing nail art from the world’s leading nail techs.

Olympia Beauty 2015 Nail Style Helena Biggs

Next stop was the Alessandro International stand. I wanted to check out their acrylic paints as I work with standard painters acrylics at the moment and hoped that ones made for the nails may work better. Unfortunately that was the one thing they didn’t have on offer at the show. Never mind, I took advantage of the trade prices and purchased Pret-A-Porter, their autumn/winter collection as well as Glam Rock, the Christmas collection.

Olympia Beauty 2015 Alessandro International

Next stop was O.P.I, their stand was massive and busy with people watching techs do demonstrations and snapping up polish bargains. I am a big fan of the O.P.I Crystal file so purchased a back up as well as some handy polish thinner! I also got myself a little sampler pack of their ever popular Avojuice, it is something I have been toying with trying so a sample pack of 6 fragrances was the perfect tester.

Olympia Beauty 2015 O.P.I Avojuice Crystal File

Olympia Beauty 2015 O.P.I

Olympia Beauty 2015 O.P.I

It was at this point I thought I would make my way to the press area I had heard about. I am very glad I did as on entering I recognised a lady there, it was none other than Lucie from Lucy’s Stash! I plucked up the courage to introduce myself and she was so lovely. We had a cup of tea and talked products and blogs and it was great to have another blogger to speak to.

Me & Lucie

Just around the corner from the press area the Nailympia competition was taking place. It is amazing to see the ladies at work and there were display cabinets with fantastic box designs. Encased in a tall glass cabinet was a stunning creation from the fashion designers Vin and Omi. A dress created using nail tips!

Olympia Beauty 2015 Nailympia

Olympia Beauty 2015  Vin and Omi dress

Back in amongst the bussling stands I made a few more cheeky purchases including 3 neon stamping polishes from Moyou Nails, some decals from Nailtopia & some polishes from Morgan Taylor including the Glow in the Dark Top Coat. Before going to the show I had my mind set on 2 other things, the first was the Nubar Chromatic collection. When I found it I discovered it came in a lovely set with a base coat, top coat and a black polish as the chromes are designed to go over one coat of colour. The next was a One Stroke training book, I love this style but I need to up my game and hope this book can help me do that.

Olympia Beauty 2015 Moyou Nails Polish

Olympia Beauty 2015 Nailtopia

Olympia Beauty 2015 Morgan Taylor

Olympia Beauty 2015 Nubar

Olympia Beauty 2015 Nubar Chromatic Collection 2015

Olympia Beauty 2015 One Stroke Training

It was them time to make my way to the Scratch stage to see Sam Biddle creating some nail art using her Be Creative products. The designs were beautiful and she showed some clever products from her range that help to create them. At the beginning of her workshop some of us were handed a raffle ticket which entitled us to a free nail art pen to try. I am looking forward to trying this product as it’s not like the high street nail pens it’s a fountain pen designed to use with acrylic paints.

Olympia Beauty 2015 Sam Biddle Be Creative

Olympia Beauty 2015 Be Creative Nail Art Pen

Myself and Lucie stayed in our seats for the next workshop from Sophie Harris-Greenslade aka the Illustrated Nail. Having recently released a book filled with designs she showed step by step how to create a pretty lace number. I couldn’t help myself but pick up a copy of her book and she even signed it πŸ™‚

Olympia Beauty 2015 Sophie Harris-Greenslade The Illustrated Nail

Olympia Beauty 2015 Sophie Harris-Greenslade The Illustrated Nail

Obviously my focus for the day was nail products but there really was something for everyone in the beauty business! There was even a celebrity in the midst with Amy Childs working the stand selling her product range. I don’t watch TOWIE so didn’t stop to get a pic with her as many others did but I did snap a sneeky shot of her at work.

image

All in all it was a brilliant day! My feet hurt and I was so tired, but it was so worth it! If you are in the business and couldn’t make your mind up on wether to go this year, I say go, don’t miss out on next years show! I will definitely be attending again next time!

I will be creating blog posts about the individual items I purchased so you can see polish swatches and my thoughts on the books xoxo

6 thoughts on “Olympia Beauty 2015

Leave a Reply

