O.P.I Washington DC Collection AW16

Well hello there lovely people. I wanted to share with you some swatches of the Autumn/Winter O.P.I Washington DC Collection.

The collection is a collaboration with Kerry Washington. Probably best known for her role as Olivia Pope in Scandal (I love that show, Shonda Rhimes knows how to get you hooked, make you smile and break your heart). The collection is a real mix of shades, so let’s get down to it….

CIA = Color Is Awesome – So first up is this stunner. Whenever I open an OPI collection there is always one stand out polish that grabs my attention, on this occasion it is this one. It is described as a dusky blue and that isn’t wrong, but it is a unique shade with hints of almost teal. It’s so beautiful.

Stay Off The Lawn – I find deep greens can sometimes be dull or even kinda gross looking but this is really pretty. Not as grassy coloured as the name might suggest but a really stunning rich green none the less.


Suzi – The First Lady of Nails – Bit of a mouthful that name isn’t it 😂 anyway Suzi must love olives as this is a very olive green. It’s khaki like too so will work well with the outfit colours of the season.


Pale To The Chief – This is the lightest shade in the mix. Pretty much matches my skin, don’t you think? This is perfect for anyone who wants to keep their nails subtle and low key this season.


Yank My Doodle – This colour screams Autumn! It matches the tones from the landscape this season. Despite being perfect for the season I don’t recall seeing this colour anywhere before and I don’t know why, it’s lovely.


Freedom Of Peach – This peachy little number is luxuriously creamy. Again another perfect autumn shade for you to rock.


Shh… It’s Top Secret! – This shade is so secretive it hid from my camera!!! This is a deep chocolate brown but it appeared almost black under my daylight lamps and camera 😕 I had a little play with the white balance to see if I could show it better and this is the best I could do. Honestly though it is really nice (you can see it as the base to my friends nail art for a pic in natural sunlight)

Madam President – I did a little happy dance when I saw this colour 😍 Although I do love the Autumn/ Winter palette I do find myself suffering withdrawals from the bright summer shades. The shade is described as red but as you can see it has a lot of pink tones too it and under my camera it just shone through as pink. Under darker lights is looks more red, either way it is a thing of beauty.


We The Female – This is such a sophisticated shade, really rich and warm. This one will take you from day to night seamlessly.

 

Kerry Blossom – You know what I love about Autumn/ Winter shades, PURPLES 💜 This is up there with my favourite berry tones, it just amazing!!!


“Liv” In The Gray – Oh I do love a good grey too (who am I kidding I love all colours in polish form!). This is is a scrumptious dark grey that will go with anything, dare I say, grey is the new black 😜


Inside The Isabelletway – The look book describes this as a caramel creme and it is just the perfect way to explain this shade. It’s so delicious and would look amazing with darker skin tones.

So that’s it, all 12 beauties in their full glory. Do you have a favourite?

Just to sum up, all swatches were 2 coats plus top coat. Although I achieved an even coverage with two coats, Pale To The Chief could do with 3. This is not an imperfection in the polish it is just down to the lightness of the colour. My nail art was of course based on the collection name, Washington DC. I used acrylic paints only to create the roof of the White House with the American Flag.

See you tomorrow with some more Halloween nail art xoxo

* PR Sample * This collection was sent to me by representatives of O.P.I to provide an honest review.

Leave a Reply

